Escape to LA

I came.

I lived in Los Angeles for several years in my early twenties.

Now, when I go back to visit, I enjoy exploring parts of LA that are less familiar to me.  Every time I go back, I’m delighted by these hidden gems and new restaurants!

I spent the first few days of 2016 in LA. . . Happy New Year! 

I saw.

In the middle of the winter, it was such a delight to flock to the palm-lined streets of Venice to shop the high-end and indy boutiques on Abbot Kinney and stop to nosh at one of the several restaurants.

Admittedly, I haven’t spent very much time in Downtown LA, and didn’t really have an idea of what, if anything, there was to see.  I remedied that by booking one of the several walking tours offered by the Los Angeles Conservancy.  I spent a Saturday morning learning about the history and architecture of Downtown LA on the Historic Downtown Walking Tour.  The tour guide was very knowledgable and passionate about preservation, and took us through time to the unique history of growth in Downtown LA, reflected in the architectural styles.  Highly recommend this tour and I hope to take the Art Deco tour next time!

LA also has a number of great museums, including The Los Angeles County Museum of Art (LACMA) and the Hammer Museum.

I could spend an entire weekend in the LACMA, which boasts a collection of over 100,000 pieces ranging from ancient to modern art, European to Korean art, and special exhibitions.  I also noticed a children’s gallery where kids where making art of their own.  Tempted as I was to sneak in and join the fun, I settled on playing with the outdoor art installations.

The Hammer Museum is a much smaller space, but well worth your time.  Located in Westwood, admission is free, and there is something relaxing about going to a museum where you can actually view the entire collection (including the work of van Gogh, Degas, Cezanne, Monet, and Gauguin) in two or three hours.  The smaller collection also allowed me time to explore exhibitions that I otherwise would have forgone seeing in order to focus on the permanent collection.  Don’t miss out on the outside installations, which included some top-like spinning chairs!

IMG_0883
Hammer Projects: Kenny Scharf

On the next post: I ATE.

Cheers!

 

 

 

One thought on “Escape to LA

Leave a Reply

