March 2016 Birchbox Unboxing

It’s that time of the month again!

That time when your mailbox is slightly ajar and you can see that familiar-shaped box peeking out, the contents of which are begging to be tried!

IMG_1084.jpg

This month’s theme is Ready for Anything, a box targeted at “pulling together a look in no time flat.”  For me, this box features some old favorites and new treats.

My box included a couple of items that I already adore, namely, the Wilma Schumann Skincare Hydrating Collagen Eye Pads (which I LOVE — you can read my thoughts here) and the PARLOR® by Jeff Chastain Smoothing Blowout Spray.  I already have the full-sized blowout spray, so I am excited to use this sample size for travel.  I apply this blowout spray prior to blowdrying.  It smells good and leaves my hair feeling soft, with controlled volume.  I see more pronounced results when I blow-dry using a round brush.  Absolutely love this blowout spray!

My box also came with a moisturizer, Kiehl’s Ultra Facial Cream.  Because it is a cream, I was reluctant to use it for daytime, but I am glad I tried it, because it is pretty lightweight for a cream and absorbs quickly.  It has been particularly gentle with my allergy-ridden chaffed nose this week.  I also find that a little goes a long way, so this sample will definitely last me at least a few weeks!

My March box also came with a lipstick and eye shadow trio, both of which I love!  Milk Makeup Lip Color in C.R.E.A.M. is the perfect nude!  Most of the nudes I receive are too light to be paired with my skin tone and make me look like a washed-out ghost.  This nude was just right (pictured on my forearm, above)!  The lipstick itself has good pigment, stay power, and felt silky.  I paired it with the ModelCo lipliner featured in this post, to better define the bow of my lip, but lipliner isn’t necessary with this lipstick.

Smashbox Photo Op Eyeshadow Trio in Filter also did not disappoint.  It takes the guesswork out of coordinating shadows!  Use the cream color as a base, light brown in the crease, and dark brown to line for a soft (read: office friendly/daytime) smoky eye (Filter colors pictured on my forearm, above).  I am also happy to report that the pigment was long-lasting and didn’t crease after a day at the office, which is no easy feat!

Have you tried any of these products?  What did you get in your box?

Cheers!

 

Leave a Reply

