April 2016 Birchbox Unboxing

It’s that time of the month again!  Time to see what goodies came in April’s Birchbox!

This month’s box was designed by one of my favorite paper companies — Rifle Paper Co.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The theme for April is Spring Awakening.

I was excited to see some familiar brands and learn about some new ones.

The Beauty Crop PBJ Smoothie Stick is a fun lip color, great for spring.  The description says it has a tint, but, to me, it seems very pigmented.  It goes on smooth and smells fruity.  This particular shade was a little too magenta for my skin tone, but I like the way my lips felt (and smelled) after application.

This month’s box introduced me to (MALIN & GOETZ).  I sampled the (MALIN+GOETZ) grapefruit face cleanser and the (MALIN+GOETZ) vitamin e face moisturizer.  The face cleanser smells of grapefruit and left my skin feeling clean and refreshed.  It also works well with a Clarisonic face brush, and it removed eye makeup well (especially considering that it was otherwise a mild cleanser).  The face moisturizer is lightweight and has a stronger but fresh scent.  It seemed to absorb pretty quickly.

Anyone who reads my blog knows that I am a huge fan of amika products.  So, I was really excited to get a sample of amika Un.Done Texture Spray in my box.  In comparison to a different amika hairspray that I keep as a staple (read more here), this spray pulls double duty to add hold, as well as texture and volume.  Perfect to help you achieve a tousled look that stays put.  Definitely saving this sample for travel!

You might also know how much I love benefit products.  Hoola’s powder bronzer is known as one of benefit’s best sellers.  Now, they’ve come up with a liquid version — Benefit Dew the Hoola Matte Liquid Bronzer.  I really like this liquid bronzer because it goes on smooth and blends easily.  The color works great on my skin (I suspect if you wanted to tone it down you could mix some moisturizer with it).  Also, because it has a matte finish, it looks great for everyday use and won’t make you look shimmery.  A great way to transition your complexion from winter to spring!  (Note, a little goes a long way with this product.)

Last, we have rms beauty™ the ultimate makeup remover wipes.  These wipes are fantastic!  They are compostable (which is a plus, when using disposable wipes) and are made using coconut oil.  This means they smell like toasted coconut!  Some complained about these wipes being too oily or not removing all make-up.  For me, I used the wipes to remove my eye makeup, then I washed my face as usual.  So, for my purposes, they removed eye makeup and left my eye area feeling soft and moisture-rich.  I definitely enjoyed these wipes and they would be great for travel!

Have you tried any of these products?  What are your favorite products for April?

Cheers!

 

One thought on “April 2016 Birchbox Unboxing

Leave a Reply

