Get Glowing

Birchbox “Discovery Kits” are a great way to sample products for specific purposes.  I am always on the hunt for lighter-weight coverage — with SPF — this time of year, when the elements cause make-up to melt and skin to tan or burn.

The Radiant Finish Kit is a great summer sampler.

P1013968.JPG

The kits comes with a small beautyblender and step-by-step instructions to get a radiant glow.  Even though the beauty blender is smaller than the original size, once wetted, it is perfect in size.  I recently began using the beautyblender again for CC creams, concealer, and liquid foundation, and have really noticed more even coverage.

The jane iredale Smooth Affair Facial Primer & Brightener is lightweight and has a light citrus scent.  Unlike some primers that feel like they sit atop your skin, this primer was easily absorbed by my skin, and resulted in pretty good makeup coverage.

I was really impressed by the Supergoop!® Daily Correct CC Cream SPF 35+.  I had tried this CC cream years ago, and I wasn’t as impressed, but I think that was because I wasn’t using a beautyblender to apply it, so it felt heavy on my face.  By using the beautyblender to apply this CC cream, I achieved even and light coverage.  Because it feels so light on my face, I am impressed by how even my skin looks!  Given that there are only three shades to choose from, I was also impressed that the shade I selected looked perfect for my skin tone.  Also, gotta love the SPF!

I was a little dubious of the kit instructions, which said to apply the bronzer from Cargo Blush and Bronzer Duo all over the face.  I thought for sure my face would look to dark, but I was pleasantly surprised that a sheer sweep of the bronzer simply gave my face a healthy glow.  The blush is a nice color, too, and neither are too shimmery, which I like.

Admittedly, I’ve never been very interested in highlighting, probably due to my fear of having a shimmery face.  However, I really like this trèStiQue Perfect Multipurpose Highlight Stick.  It has only a subtle shimmer, and, because its a stick, allows for more controlled application.  It is creamy, so it is easy to blend.

All in all, I like this kit and already have it set aside for my weekend makeup routine!

What is your favorite CC cream routine?

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

