June 2016 Birchbox Unboxing

It’s that time of the month again – Birchbox time!  The theme for June is Everyday Magic, beauty fixes that are nothing short of magic.  (Unfortunately, this month, my box was missing one sample which is now being sent separately, so I’ll discuss the four products pictured below.)

IMG_0491.JPG

I was excited to get a sample of dr. brandt PoreDermabrasion, which I’ve used before and really like.  This exfoliator smells fresh and has tiny exfoliants that leave my skin feeling soft, smooth, and refreshed.

IPKN Moist & Firm Beauty Balm SPF 45 is a BB cream with sheer, buildable coverage.  Since it also is SPF 45 and has a matte finish, this magical multitasker is a perfect hot weather go-to face product.

I don’t have a ton of experience with hydrating mists.  I am always a bit wary to apply over makeup, for fear that my makeup will streak, so I did not try Avène Thermal Spring Water as a setting spray or as a midday mist.  Instead, I used it as a toner and to soothe sunburned shoulders.  Voila, my skin felt refreshed, soothed, and soft!  (This would also be great to have on a long flight to help keep skin hydrated.)

If you follow this blog, you already know I am a big fan of San Francisco-based Benefit Cosmetics.  I have used Benefit Gimme Brow Volumizing Fiber Gel for a little over one year now and it is one of my makeup bag favorites.  As I understand it, this is a new and improved formula, but I am not sure what has changed.  In any event, Gimme Brow is an excellent way to make barely-there brows reappear!  When I use it, I brush the wand up and out, beginning in the inside corners of my brows.  Then, I fill in my brows with a pencil and shape with a comb.  I love this stuff!

What are your favorite beauty “magic tricks”?

Cheers!

 

Leave a Reply

