July 2016 Birchbox Unboxing

I’m always excited to receive my monthly Birchbox.  The theme for July is My Morning Routine . . . things that get you “up and at ’em.”

IMG_7522

If you are a regular reader, then you already know I am a huge fan of Coola suncare products.  In the name of research, I spent a considerable amount of time laying outside in my backyard last weekend, sipping rose.  It was a sacrifice I had to make to effectively try out COOLA® Environmental Repair Plus® Radical Recovery™ After-Sun Lotion.  While I didn’t quite allow myself to burn, I did try this after-sun lotion after sitting in the sun for some time.  It felt really soothing against my warm skin and I could see it being great on tender sunburned skin.

I also enjoyed trying MDSolarSciences™ Daily Anti-Aging Moisturizer SPF 30.  I always like a multitasking moisturizer for my face.  It smells like sunscreen, but I find that the smell fades pretty quickly.  The moisturizer also absorbs easily, so it works well under make up.

REN Keep Young and Beautiful™ Instant Firming Beauty Shot is a nice lightweight serum that absorbs quickly.  I applied it to my clean face, under my make up.  I  haven’t used it quite long enough to notice a difference, but it feels great on the skin.

I really love getting Oribe samples!  Oribe products aren’t cheap, but its one of those brands that makes me feel like I just walked out of a salon.  Oribe Shampoo for Brillance & Shine and Oribe Conditioner for Brilliance & Shine are no exception.  My hair felt fuller and looked shinier after using this duo.

By far, my two favorite July samples are Smashbox Cosmetics X-Rated Mascara and TOCCA Eau de Parfum in Bianca.

Smashbox Cosmetics X-Rated Mascara has an unusual wand.  It has three edges that are longer than the others (creating a triangular-shaped wand).  These longer edges make it really easy to apply from the base of the lashes all the way to the tips.  The formula itself is matte, and doesn’t smudge or flake, which is noteworthy for a non-waterproof mascara.  I’ve been using this sample everyday this week, even for the office, and love it!  It is high impact without looking overdone.

I have several Tocca fragrances and hand lotions and I like some scents more than others.  The TOCCA Eau de Parfum in Bianca is quickly becoming one of my favorites!  It is perfect for summer — citrusy and rosy.  At first I thought it might be a bit stronger than what I generally like, but the scent fades into something more subtle.  I’ve been wearing Bianca almost everyday since I received my box and have already received several compliments.

What products are a must in your morning routine?

Cheers!

One thought on “July 2016 Birchbox Unboxing

Leave a Reply

