August 2016 Birchbox Unboxing

It’s my favorite time of the month again — Birchbox unboxing time!

The theme for August is Can’t Stop, Wont’ Stop, making the most of what’s left of summer.  This box has a special focus on hair, with two hair samples.

IMG_7790.jpg

Let’s start with the products for face.  The Organic Pharmacy Purifying Seaweed Clay Mask is a unique clay mask.  The scent is reminiscent of high school, when I used to use Noxema.  I like this mask because it feels creamier on my face than most mud masks I’ve tried and gentle on my skin, without over-drying.  My skin felt refreshed after use.

I am already a big fan of derma e  products (including the fact that I can buy them at Whole Foods).  The derma e® Purifying Daily Detox Scrub is a mild exfoliant that seems gentle enough for daily use.  I thought the charcoal and seaweed were noteworthy, and it felt like the charcoal was soaking-up the gunk from my skin.

Now, for the first of the two hair products.  I really like the ProfilePRO® Ultra Nourishing Oil!  It is really lightweight and smells fabulous.  I’ve tried it on both damp hair (prior to blow drying) and to add shine to dry hair.  My hair felt soft when I used it before blow drying.  On dry hair, I used it at the ends after using a curling wand to wave my hair and it added shine and control to my ends, which sometimes end up looking a bit frizzy after curling.

The second hair product is one of my favorites from the August box.  I have yet to try an Oribe product I don’t love, and the Oribe Après Beach Wave and Shine Spray is no exception!  This spray purportedly adds both texture and shine.  The directions say this spray can be used on both wet and dry hair to create tousled beach waves.  I only tried it one way, on curling wand-created waves, in place of hairspray.  My waves looked a lot more relaxed and my hair felt a lot less weighed down using this spray.  This spray had just the right amount of hold and added enough shine to keep my waves wavy instead of frizzy.  Even better, this spray is a fine mist, rather than a sticky salt spray.  I LOVE this product!

My other favorite from the August box is from the Manna Kadar Cosmetics Day-Dream Palette.  This eyeshadow sample was in the shade Fantasy.  This shade is a beautiful rose champagne color, with a nice amount of pigment and shimmer.  Plus, it works great as a highlighter above blush, resulting in a rosy dewy look.  (Full disclosure, the eye shadow broke during shipment, but I didn’t have any trouble applying it on my eyelids or cheeks as a loose powder.)

What are your favorite products to get through the last of summer?

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

