September 2016 Birchbox Unboxing

Doh, I haven’t posted in a couple of weeks!  Between end-of-summer travel and switching day jobs, my plate’s been a bit full . . . but what better way to dive back in than with a Birchbox unboxing?!

The theme for September’s featured box is Top-Rated Time Savers, and these samples don’t disappoint!

img_8017

If you follow my blog, you know I have long been a fan of amika hair products and tools.  I have tried this amika Perk Up Dry Shampoo in the past, and I like it because, when used as directed, it seems to do the job without making my hair feel sticky or greasy, and it doesn’t leave any residue.

I’ve also tried Vasanti® BrightenUp! Enzymatic Face Rejuvenator before.  I like this exfoliator because it boasts the results of microdermabrasion, while feeling mild on my skin.  It seems gentle enough to use several times a week, which is great for my sensitive skin!  My skin feels soft after use.

I really like Supergoop products.  Supergoop!® Shine-On Lip Screen SPF 50 is one of those products you didn’t know existed and then can’t believe you did without!  When I don’t wear lipstick, my lips are prone to sunburn, so I have high hopes for this lip screen.  I’ve worn it by itself and over lipstick.  Wear it alone to protect your lips when sans lipstick.  Worn with lipstick, it adds a glossy sheen.

Dr. Jart+ Premium Beauty Balm SPF 45+ has just the perfect amount of coverage!  I applied it using a damp beautyblender and then finished with translucent powder.  It had great coverage, in terms of covering flaws, while looking natural enough not to cover freckles.  I thought the sample shade had been a little light for my summer skintone, but it actually blended quite well.  The next time I buy a beauty balm, it will be this one!

My favorite sample in this month’s box is Milk Makeup Ubame Mascara.  The wand has an unusual three-balled shape to it.  After using it a few days, I found that I got the most even coverage (and lengthening) when I only focused on where I applied the last ball at the end of the wand (the rest of the wand, of course, is still applying product to nearby lashes).  The formula is matte and long-lasting.  This mascara is great for daytime use!

What are your favorite timesavers?

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

