May 2017 Birchbox Unboxing

It’s my favorite time of the month — Birchbox unboxing time!

I especially love getting samples right before a three-day weekend.  Whether long weekend plans involve a fun-in-the-sun trip or a relaxing stay-cation, its a great time to try new samples (read: TSA-friendly).

May’s theme is Low Effort, High Impact.  Who doesn’t love that, especially when trying to pack light?

IMG_9535.JPG

Ride the Wave.  One of the items I received in my box is OUAI Wave Spray.  I’ve used this one before and love it!  Read my prior post here.  A great option if you can’t make it to the beach this weekend!

Masquer-Aid.  I love using these individually-wrapped masks, especially when I’m traveling.  They’re a great way to go from your couch or hotel room to the spa in an instant!  (And, if you’re braver than me, you can use one on the plane!)  The BioRepublic Skincare Pomegranate Crush Illuminating Mask is super easy to apply and stays on really well!  Sometimes I end up having to tilt my head back to keep face masks from sliding down my face, but not so here!  After using, my skin felt so soft and hydrated.  The light smell of pomegranate was nice too.

Here Comes the Sun. Shiseido Ultimate Sun Protection Cream SPF 50+ WetForce is such a fantastic face moisturizer with sunscreen!  It goes on pretty thick, but blends nicely into a matte finish.  A little goes a very long way.  The formula seems to withstand water and sweat pretty well.  While much stronger than what I use daily, this cream would be great for a beach day or humid climates.  Perfect timing for a long weekend trip!

Lash Dance.  I always enjoy receiving products from The Beauty Crop, because of the fun packaging (in this case, pink flamingos!) and because they make great products.  The Beauty Crop Fabulous Flocking Lashes is a great mascara for daily use.  The stiff little brush, while appearing simple, did a good job of lifting and separating my lashes.  One or two coats is perfect for daytime use.  I wore it on a hot(ish) day and it didn’t smudge.  Solid mascara.

A Bright Idea.  M·A·C Cosmetics Strobe Cream has a cult following and I’ve been wanting to try it FOR. THE. LONGEST. TIME.  Strobe Cream is a luminizing moisturizer that highlights and leaves your skin looking brighter.  As a moisturizer, its lightweight and feels nice on the skin.  I tried it alone as a moisturizer and it made my skin look dewey without looking sparkly, which I liked.  I’ve also applied it over makeup, as a highlighter above my cheekbones (dabbing and blending with my ring finger), which worked nicely.  Definitely one of the nicer brightening moisturizers I’ve used!

What are you packing for the long weekend?  Let me know below!

Cheers!

Leave a Reply

